From: Twin Cities
ANSWER TO "DISTRACTING THE BATTER"
No, but it used to be, before Eddie Stanky of the New York Giants brought undue attention to the play in the early 1950s. Today, the umpire would stop play and warn the violator that if he continued to try to distract the batter, he would be ejected from the game.
The Twins tried a similar tactic on Boggs, when he was on a hitting streak in the mid-1980s. Second baseman Phil Lombardozzi (I'm directly quoting the book here, Phil must be Steve's evil twin brother. You know, the one that got in the fight with Phil Gladden) and short-stop Phil Gagne (see previous comment, was this the pro wrestler or the North Star?) changed positions just as the pitcher delivered the ball to the plate. Umpire Ed Brinkman (a-hole) stopped play and applied Rule 4.06 , illegal distraction. On the next pitch, Boggs hit a line-drive double (his only career extra base hit).
< Message edited by Todd Gray -- 2/27/2008 7:11:58 PM >